Alexa Certification
myfirstshow logo
Home > news > view
Updated Gallery

Raghupathi Venkaiah, Nagi Reddy, Chakrapani, B.N. Reddy and NTR National Awards announced…

Popular yesteryear actress B. Saroja Devi has been selected for the NTR National Award for 2009, while well-known film producer K. Raghava bagged the Raghupathi Venkaiah Award. Media baron and producer, Ch. Ramoji Rao was selected for the Nagi Reddy and Chakrapani National Film Award, while the B.N. Reddy National Award was given to veteran director K. Raghavendra Rao

These are part of three national and one State-level awards instituted by the Andhra Pradesh government, which were announced on December 6th (Monday). The NTR Award carries a cash prize of Rs.5lakhs, and the Raghupathi Venkaiah Award, B.N. Reddy National Award and Chakrapani National Film Award each carries cash prize of Rs.2lakhs.

The recipients were named after a five-member committee headed by producer G. Adiseshagiri Rao selected the nominees at a meeting on December 6th (Yesterday).

The committee members later met Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy and submitted a report on the awards, which will be presented along with the Nandi Film Awards for 2009 at a function on December 12th in Hyderabad.

Hailing from Karnataka, Saroja Devi acted in nearly 170 films in Telugu, Tamil and Kannada, after making her debut in 1955 in the Kannada film “Mahakavi Kalidasa”. She won a national award for her role in the Kannada film “Kittur Rani Chennamma”. She has served as chairperson of the Karnataka Film Development Corporation. She is also a recipient of the Padmabushan.

Starting his career as a gatekeeper in 1940, Raghava worked in all areas of the film industry and introduced well-known directors Dasari Narayana Rao and Kodi Ramakrishna to the cine world. He started a dubbing and recording theatre in Hyderabad.

Ramoji Rao established the Ramoji Film City here, apart from the ‘Eenadu’ group of publications and TV.
Raghavendra Rao has directed films in Telugu and in Hindi, and was the producer of films such as “Annamayya” ,“Ramadasu” and many .

The other members of the committee are producer K. C. Sekhar Babu, cine artiste Giri Babu, and director N. Shankar, K. Pardhasaradhi, Information and Public Relations Commissioner, is the member-convener.        

All rights reserved by   |  Contact Us